How to enable Lockdown Mode on iPhone and iPad
Our iPhones and iPads are used daily and as a result will have some of our most sensitive data and information. They could be photos and videos from our photo library, files and documents stored locally on your device, contact information, credit cards, bank accounts, and passwords; whatever you don’t want others to have on your hands, it’s probably on your device. . That’s why it’s more important than ever to make sure your data is secure, and having a complex password and Touch ID or Face ID enabled is just one step.
But Apple is taking security to a whole new level in the next iteration of software updates. Apple has announced that a “Lock Mode” will arrive in the fall for iOS 16, iPadOS 16 and macOS Ventura. The company is also confident enough in this new feature that it offers a $ 2 million reward through the Apple Security Bounty program for any researcher who can overcome the new lock mode.
If you have iOS 16 or iPadOS 16 on your current iPhone or iPad, here’s how to turn on lock mode.
Apple occasionally offers updates to iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, tvOS, and macOS as closed previews for developers or public betas. While betas contain new features, they also contain pre-release errors that can prevent normal use of your iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Apple TV, or Mac, and are not intended for everyday use on a device. main. That’s why we strongly recommend that you stay away from developer previews unless you need them for software development and use public betas with caution. If you depend on your devices, wait for the final version.
What is the lock mode and who is it for?
So what is lock mode? Essentially, it is a tight-fitting security feature that is designed to protect those who are most vulnerable or at risk from “highly targeted cyber attacks,” specifically from private companies that have developed state-sponsored spyware. The target group includes journalists, activists and even government employees. However, lock mode is optional and is available to anyone who just wants to add the strictest level of security to their device.
Once the lock mode is activated, the device is at an “extreme” security level because it severely restricts or completely disables certain features, applications, and even websites. Lock mode was added to the third beta version of iOS 16 and iPadOS 16 developers, and this is what will affect:
- Messages: Most message attachments are blocked, except for images. Link previews and other features may also not be available.
- FaceTime: Incoming FaceTime calls from people you haven’t called before are blocked.
- Shared albums: Shared albums will be removed from the Photos app and new shared album invitations will be blocked.
- Device connections: Cable connections with another device or accessory are blocked while your iPhone or iPad is locked.
- Apple Services: Incoming invitations from others are blocked for Apple services you haven’t previously connected to.
- Profiles: Configuration profiles, such as school or work profiles, cannot be installed.
These are just the beginning of the protections that Apple is making available with lock mode. Apple has stated that more restrictions will be added to the lock mode as time goes on.
How to turn on lock mode on iPhone or iPad
Remember that while the lock mode is aimed at those at risk of cyberattack, anyone can activate the lock mode. If you have the latest beta for iOS 16 or iPadOS 16 developers, here’s how to turn on lock mode.
- Launch Configuration on your device.
- Faucet Privacy and security.
- Scroll to the bottom and tap Lock mode.
- Faucet Activates the lock mode.
- Read the lock mode information and scroll down to tap Activates the lock mode.
- Faucet Turn it on and on again to confirm and activate, or Cancel if you change your mind.
As you can see, when you activate the lock mode, you will need to restart your iPhone or iPad. Once this is done, your device will be restricted to certain features, applications, and websites as described above.
More security is always welcome
Because our devices can contain such sensitive data, it’s important to keep this information safe and secure. The first step is to always have a password or password on your device, and then make sure you have touch or face identification enabled. You can also take other security measures, such as disabling location services, enabling transparency of application tracking, and more.
But the lock mode takes things to a whole new level in terms of security. This new security feature will severely restrict and limit access to your device for specific features, applications, and websites, which can be very useful for specific situations. Again, although it is aimed at a small number of users, anyone can activate it if they prefer.
We may earn a commission for purchases through our links. Learn more.